Recital Will Showcase the Allegheny College Chamber Singers

The Allegheny College Chamber Singers will present a free recital on Sunday, Dec. 15 at 3:15 p.m. in Ford Chapel on the Allegheny campus.

The nine performers are members of the Allegheny Choir and were selected by further audition for the Chamber Choir. They are seniors Caitlyn Askey, Timothy Kaspick, William McInally and Sara St. Peter; juniors Bailey Blashford, Breana Gallagher and Rose Sheridan; and sophomores Andrew Daigle and Christopher Schuchert.

The recital program will include five duets, a trio and four works for the entire ensemble in a variety of sacred and secular works spanning the 16th century to the present day.

The concert will begin with two ensemble works: a Gregorian chant on the traditional “Kyrie eleison” text followed by “Jubilate Deo,” a sacred motet by the 17th-century Italian composer Agostino Agazzari. Schuchert and McInally will perform an unaccompanied “Agnus Dei” by the 15th-century master Josquin des Prez. McInally will then be joined by St. Peter and Gallagher and flutist Laura Smathers for Gilbert Martin’s “The Whistling Shepherd.” Blashford and Askey will sing “I Waited for the Lord” from Mendelssohn’s second symphony.

The singers will combine to present a poem about the advent of winter from “Four Curmudgeonly Canons” by P.D.Q. Bach, a fictional Baroque composer invented by musical satirist Peter Schickele. St. Peter and Sheridan will perform Beethoven’s “Where Flowers were Springing” from his collection of 20 Irish songs. Returning to Mendelssohn, Schuchert and McInally will sing “Abendlied,” or “Evening Song.”

Sheridan and Kaspick will then perform “Wir gehn nun” from J.S. Bach’s Peasant Cantata, followed by Gallagher and Daigle singing “Dirait-on” from Morten Lauridsen’s “Songs of Roses.”

To conclude the program all nine singers will combine for “An Irish Blessing” by Meadville composer William Witherup.

The Chamber Singers are coached by Vicki Jamison, adjunct instructor in music, and accompanied by Ward Jamison, professor of music emeritus.