PRSA of NWPA Accepting Nominations for ‪2019 Niagara Awards

The Northwestern Pennsylvania Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) is currently accepting nominations for the 6th Annual Niagara Awards. The Niagara Awards recognize the best communication practitioners, campaigns and tactics in the region.

“We are proud to bring together and celebrate public relations, communications, digital media and marketing professionals within the community,” said Amanda Kochirka, president of the Northwestern Pennsylvania Chapter of the national professional organization. “The Niagara Awards honors the outstanding work of the organizations and individuals right here in Erie who are behind these campaigns.”

All entries are judged by PR professionals outside of the Erie region.

The early bird deadline for entries is Friday, September 27. The final deadline for entries is Friday, ‪October 4. The winners will be announced at the Niagara Awards Reception, to be held Thursday, November 21, at the Brewerie at Union Station.

Entries cost $25 each for PRSA members, students and nonprofits; $35 each for non-members.

Winners will be announced in the following categories:

  • Community Relations
  • Special Events and Observances
  • Public Service and Public Affairs
  • Marketing
  • Crisis Communications/ Reputation Management
  • Internal Communications
  • Multicultural Public Relations
  • Integrated Communications
  • Interactive (Social Media) Communications
  • Media Relations/Feature Stories
  • Publications (Print or Digital)
  • Video News Release/Marketing Video

The 2019 Community Relations Person of the Year, Broadcast Journalist of the Year, Print Journalist of the Year, Public Relations Person of the Year and Digital Media Person of the Year will also be recognized. A Best of Show winner and this year’s PR Student of the Year winner will also be announced.

Last year, winners included: Allegheny College, Diocese of Erie, Erie Bar Association, Erie Community Foundation, Erie Insurance, Erie SeaWolves, Edinboro University Center for Branding and Strategic Communication, Edinboro University PRSSA, General McLane School District, Jr. Achievement of Northwestern Pa., NAMI of Erie County, Penn State Behrend, Room 33, Stevens Strategic Communications, UPMC Hamot and WCTL – Faith, Family, Fun.

The 2nd Annual PRSA Student of the Year competition, provided by Northwestern Pennsylvania Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) and Erie Insurance, challenges students to create a PR/Mar-Comm campaign for Erie Regional Chamber & Growth Partnership. The winning student will be awarded a $500 cash award and be named the PR Student of the Year for the PRSA NWPA Chapter at the Annual Niagara Awards.  All projects must be submitted by 11:59 p.m. on October 11, 2019. Last year’s winner was Edinboro University’s Mason Kuhr.

On Thursday, PRSA is hosting a Sip, Snack and Socialize event to answer any questions about this year’s Niagara Awards. The event takes place at Room 33 from 5 p.m. until 7 p.m.

Complete award details as well as submission information can be found on the chapter’s website: If you have any questions about the categories, contact Marissa Orbanek at

The Northwestern Pennsylvania Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) is the professional organization that brings together public relations, communications and marketing practitioners throughout Erie, PA.

We Want to Hear From You...

%d bloggers like this: